icon of Christ

Day 12: Vestments.

When we see this,

20131126 priest censing
we think of this…

20131126 Transfiguration Icon
and this,

20131126 Ascension
and also this.

20131126 Christ Enthroned
‘Cause when we’re standing here…

ChurchAtNight
it feels like…

20131126 heaven
here.

“and among the lampstands was someone “like a son of man,” dressed in a robe reaching down to his feet and with a golden sash around his chest.” Revelation 1:13

“I delight greatly in the Lord;
my soul rejoices in my God.
For he has clothed me with garments of salvation
and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness,
as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest,
and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.” Isaiah 61:10

“And thou shalt make holy garments for Aaron thy brother for glory and for beauty.” Exodus 28:2

The priest in his vestments becomes an icon of Christ in our heavenly worship.

40DAYSBLOG

2 thoughts on “icon of Christ

  1. I’ve been thinking this week about what it means to be a living icon of Christ. This post unveils for me an entirely new thought about the vestments of the priest. The holy garments symbolize the celestial linen we will be clothed with in eternity, garments of salvation and robes of righteousness.

    Like

Speak up!