homemade instant pea soup mix

I’ve mentioned Bob’s Red Mill 3 Minute Pea Soup recipe before, but what if you could take the soup mix with you to work for a quick lunch? Well. You can! At the end of the post, I’ll give you a couple links to ingredients.

20140318-123237.jpg
You will need green pea flour and a little sandwich-sized ziplock bag.

20140318-123315.jpg
For one big bowl of soup, add 3 Tbsp of green pea flour to the ziplock bag. Just 3 Tbsp contains 4g fiber (16% of what you need for the day), 4g protein, and 6% iron.

20140318-123358.jpg
Then add some sort of vegetarian bouillon granules – I buy this kind at the Asian market (chicken flavored, but without any animal products) and use 1 tsp.

20140318-123500.jpg
Add whatever seasonings you’d like, to taste. I prefer garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, a dash of cayenne pepper, and 2 tsp nutritional yeast.

Seal the ziplock bag and shake it up to mix the ingredients. Then I like to open the corner of the bag, press out the air, and reseal for easy storage in my reused takeout box.

20140318-123621.jpg
Next, I fill my bowl with water (should be about 2 Cups, I just eyeball it) and heat it in the microwave for 2 to 3 minutes (if you have a kettle you can heat the water that way, if you prefer to avoid the microwave). I actually only do mine for 2 minutes because I start with hot water from the dispenser on our coffee machine.

Careful, your bowl will be hot!!! Add the contents of the bag – do it slowly at first because if the water’s really hot, adding the mix could cause it to bubble and spill over.

20140318-123707.jpg
Stir, stir, stir. Mash big lumps with the back of your spoon. Don’t mind the little ones, they taste good :)

On Amazon, you can buy four 24oz packages of Green Pea Flour for less than $20.

And you can buy a six pack of Massel Vegetable Bouillon Granules for seasoning. That should last year maybe a couple years! (Or just find it in a store near you and buy one container at a time…)

By the way, this is oil free and perfect for a strict fasting day!

4 thoughts on “homemade instant pea soup mix

  1. Pingback: cheesy spinach quesadilla toaster trick | oh.she.cooks

Speak up!