Leftover Injera Bread, part two: Making Chips!

I thought this would be my final post about leftover injera (at least for this round), but it turns out this is 2 of 3! It’s kind exciting. I found a really cool blog that seems to be abandoned now, and on it was a recipe for Injera Chips. Preheat your oven to 275.

Start with vegetable or canola oil and spices: berbere, turmeric, garlic and cayenne. And maybe a little pinch of salt.

All these colors will look gorgeous on the bread.

Stir it up.

I had a nearly whole round of injera, a little bent and misshapen from being folded in the takeout box. I put it on a round pizza pan and brushed the “holey” side with the oil and spices.

Make sure you’re continually stirring the oil & spices or brushing the bottom of the bowl because the spices will settle. You don’t want all the spices on one part and nothing but oil on another.

The injera baked for about 45-60 minutes. I kind of lost track because towards the end I shifted the pan a few times, and I also flipped the bread over twice.

It got nice and crispy.

I broke the bread up into bite size pieces and refilled the takeout box. Somehow the sour flavor of the teff flour combined with the spices reminded me of something…I think it was Cheese Its! Actually, probably Cheese Nips because we were too poor to eat Cheese Its, we had to get the knock offs. Anyway, I don’t know if they really do taste like either one because it’s been so long since I’ve had them, I’ll have to ask my grandpa. They’re his favorite snack.

Now, if you happen to have any will power whatsoever and do not eat all of your chips in one sitting, you can look forward to the third and final recipe for leftover injera which will actually use these injera chips.

*If the suspense it just KILLING you…I used the chips in a filling for stuffed mushroom caps.

9 thoughts on “Leftover Injera Bread, part two: Making Chips!

  1. Pingback: vegan stuffed mushroom caps, the third & final use of leftover injera bread! « oh.she.cooks

  2. However, if Cheese Nips had made a spicy version I would have gotten those over the Cheeseits. Not because we were poor but because the Cheese Nips tasted better. At least to me. So. . . back to these chips what did you use the leftovers for? I must have missed it.

    Like

    • Oh, you saw it alright – I used them in my stuffed mushrooms, and you commented on the blog post about liking to eat dirt :) But I’ll add a link on this recipe to make it easier to find.

      Like

  3. Pingback: more fun with injera: za’atar & tahini sandwich roll « oh.she.cooks

  4. Pingback: injera #6: cinnamon & sugar chips « oh.she.cooks

  5. Pingback: Leftover Injera #4: Bread Pudding | Oh, she cooks!

  6. Pingback: Injera Chips – Oil Free | Oh, she cooks!

Speak up!