sourdough cinnamon roll with olive oil

So, the other day I mentioned I was still trying to use up some leftover dough. These leftovers were sitting in the fridge for about a week. Sunday I took it out to let it warm up, I wanted to try to make something quickly before our family dinner…then I realized I only had 20 minutes! Not enough time :( So the dough sat out on the counter for about 4 hours, and when I finally took the lid off the bowl I could tell it had really fermented. I decided to roll with it.

Preheat the oven to 380.

2013716 sourdough cinnamon roll
Leftover dough, a mixture of cinnamon and brown sugar, and olive oil. Roll the dough out on a floured surface to about 1/8″ to 1/4″ thick. It doesn’t have to look perfect – mine got a couple holes in it, and I just pinched them back together.

2013716 sourdough cinnamon roll2
Brush on some olive oil.

2013716 sourdough cinnamon roll3
My imperfect dough. No biggie.

2013716 sourdough cinnamon roll4
Apply cinnamon and sugar mixture. As much as you want. I also sprinkled a bit of salt on mine (optional).

2013716 sourdough cinnamon roll5
Start rolling the dough. Each time you fold it over, brush a little olive oil on the naked dough.

2013716 sourdough cinnamon roll6
Keep rolling/folding and brushing.

2013716 sourdough cinnamon roll8
Place the roll on a baking sheet and finish it off by brushing the whole thing with oil. I put mine on parchment paper so melted sugar wouldn’t get stuck all over my baking sheet.

2013716 sourdough cinnamon roll9
Bake for 10 minutes, then remove from the oven and…

2013716 sourdough cinnamon roll10
brush on even more olive oil, and sprinkle with even more cinnamon and sugar.

2013716 sourdough cinnamon roll11
Bake another 5 minutes – I put mine under the broiler, on low, for the last 3. But I don’t mind if the melted sugar gets that burned marshmallow flavor.

2013716 sourdough cinnamon roll13
Let it cool slightly, but enjoy it warm. The outer layer of dough was nice and flaky, and it did have a bit of a sour taste. I loved how it contrasted with the sweet cinamonny sugar. I like to peel it apart and eat one layer at a time.

And here, once again, is the dough recipe I used, from Craftykin.

3 thoughts on “sourdough cinnamon roll with olive oil

Speak up!